Questions & Answers

Back to Overview

When will the next ice age occur?

 

Answer

Eiszeit

Course of the greenhouse gas carbon dioxide (red), methane (blue), nitrous oxide (green) and deuterium (black, as an indicator of the local temperature ) in Antarctic ice cores during the last 650,000 years. Source: IPCC 2007, Figure TS 1., p. 24

It is not possible to answer this question with any precise degree of accuracy. The atmosphere’s behaviour is determined predominantly by the intensity of solar radiation energy that reaches the Earth’s surface (insolation). However, fluctuations in insolation and the distribution of the Sun’s radiation across the Earth also affect our planet’s energy budget and climate. The intensity of insolation changes with the long-term variations of the Earth’s orbital elements (variations in the spatial relationship between the Sun and Earth). Climate cycles occur as a result of the axial precession of the Earth, variations in the Earth’s axial tilt as it orbits the Sun, and changes to the Earth’s elliptical orbit. These cycles were described by Serbian astrophysicist and mathematician Milutin Milankovič. Such cyclical changes in the Earth-Sun constellation take place across long periods of time and, nowadays, are seen as one of the many natural factors that are responsible for climate change – particularly for the transition between glacial and interglacial periods.

The transition between periods of cold climate with expanding ice sheets (glacial periods) and periods of warm climate with retreating ice sheets (interglacial periods) has so far been the characteristic feature of the geologic Quaternary Period (technically an ice age itself due to the presence of at least one permanent ice sheet) that we are currently living in. Over the last 800,000 years the Earth has experienced eight glacial periods and nine interglacial periods. The length of one such glacial-interglacial cycle averages between 80,000 and 120,000 years. The periods of cooling and formation of ice last much longer than the periods of warming and melting of ice.

Interglacial periods have an average residence time of around 10,000 to 15,000 years; glacial periods remain from 75,000 to 85,000 years. The transition from an interglacial period to the next glacial period is characterised by a slow cooling phase, whereas the transition from a glacial period to the subsequent interglacial period involves a rapid rise in temperature. The last glacial period (commonly known as the Ice Age) peaked around 21,000 years ago. Considering this time scale, the Earth could find itself heading towards another glacial period, or “ice age” in roughly 10,000 years’ time. However, human activity is currently having a heavy impact on the Earth’s climate cycle.

This question was answered by the team of Climate Office the at the Alfred Wegener Institute Helmholtz Centre for Polar and Marine Research (AWI).

Fragen & Antworten

Zurück zur Übersicht

Wann wird es die nächste Eiszeit geben?

 

Antwort

Eiszeit

Verlauf der Treibhausgase Kohlendioxid (rot), Methan (blau), Lachgas (grün) und Deuterium (schwarz, als Indikator für die lokale Temperatur) in antarktischen Eisbohrkernen während der letzten 650.000 Jahre. Quelle: IPCC 2007, Abb. TS 1. , S. 24

Hierfür eine genaue Vorhersage zu geben ist nicht möglich. Das Verhalten der Atmosphäre wird zum größten Teil durch die Intensität der Sonneneinstrahlung bestimmt, die auf die Erde trifft. Veränderungen der Einstrahlung und der Verteilung der Strahlung auf der Erde beeinflussen aber auch den Strahlungshaushalt und das Klima der Erde. Die Intensität der Strahlung variiert mit langperiodischen Änderungen der Erdbahnelemente (Variationen in der räumlichen Beziehung zwischen Sonne und Erde). Aus den Kreiselbewegungen der Erdachse, den Schwankungen der Erdachsenneigung gegenüber ihrer Umlaufbahn um die Sonne und Veränderungen in der Ellipsenform der Erdbahn kommt es zu Klimazyklen. Beschrieben wurden diese Zyklen vom serbischen Astrophysiker und Mathematiker Milutin Milankovič. Diese zyklischen Veränderungen in der Erde-Sonne-Konstellation vollziehen sich in langen Zeiträumen und werden heutzutage als einer unter mehreren natürlichen Faktoren für Klimaänderungen mitverantwortlich gemacht, speziell für den Wechsel von Kalt- und Warmzeiten bzw. von Eis- und Zwischeneiszeiten.

Der Wechsel von Kaltzeiten mit ausgedehnten Vereisungen (Glaziale) und Warmzeiten mit Gletscherrückgängen (Interglaziale) ist für die geologische Epoche des Quartärs kennzeichnend. So ereigneten sich innerhalb der letzten 800.000 Jahre acht Kaltzeiten und neun Warmzeiten. Die Dauer eines solchen Glazial-Interglazial-Zyklus beträgt im Mittel zwischen 80.000 und 120.000 Jahre. Die Abkühlungsphasen und Eisaufbau dauern viel länger als die Erwärmungsphasen mit Eisaufbau.

Warmzeiten haben eine mittlere Verweildauer von etwa 10.000 bis 15.000 Jahren, Kaltzeiten von 75.000 bis 85.000 Jahren. Der Übergang von einer Warmzeit zur nächsten Kaltzeit ist durch eine moderate Abkühlung geprägt, der Übergang von einem Glazial zum nachfolgenden Interglazial durch einen rapiden Temperaturanstieg. Die letzte Eiszeit endete vor 21.000 Jahren. Auf diesen Zeitskalen betrachtet könnten wir in circa 10.000 Jahren einer neuen Eiszeit entgegen gehen. Momentan ist der Mensch aber dabei, extrem stark in das Klimageschehen unserer Erde einzugreifen.

Diese Frage beantwortete das Team des Klimabüros für Polargebiete und Meeresspiegelanstieg am Alfred-Wegener-Institut Helmholtz-Zentrum für Polar- und Meeresforschung (AWI).