Questions & Answers

Back to Overview

How long does a photovoltaic cell last?

 

Answer

Solarzellen_Energiestudie_DLR_WEB_600x400

Photo: DLR

Amorphous solar cells are generally said to last about 20 to 25 years. Crystalline cells carry on for longer, with lifetimes expected to reach up to 30 years. Organic PV cells deliver higher efficiencies but reach the end of their operating life far sooner than other types, which is why they are so rarely used.
Solar cells lose power over the course of their lives. Once they’ve been in operation for about 20 years, electricity yields are likely to drop by 10 percent compared to the cell’s initial performance under identical levels of irradiation. One way of working out how much efficiency a solar cell is likely to lose over its lifetime is to look at the manufacturer’s warranty, which might guarantee, say, 90 percent performance after ten years and 80 percent after 20 years.
Knowing about solar cell lifetimes is not just important from an economic perspective – it also provides valuable information on the technology’s environmental impact. The figures can help us work out how much energy the system will produce in total. We can then compare this with the amount of energy that was used in manufacturing the cell in the first place. The time it takes the system to “repay” the energy that went into making it is known as the energy payback time.

This question was answered by Robert John Doelling of energie-experten.org, an online energy magazine.

Fragen & Antworten

Zurück zur Übersicht

Wie lange ist eine Photovoltaikzelle nutzbar?

 

Antwort

Solarzellen_Energiestudie_DLR_WEB_600x400

Foto: DLR

Die Lebensdauer von amorphen Solarzellen wird in der Regel mit rund 20 bis 25 Jahren angegeben. Bei kristallinen Photovoltaikzellen geht man sogar von einer Nutzungsdauer von bis zu 30 Jahren aus. Organische Photovoltaikzellen weisen trotz höherer Effizienz eine wesentlich geringere Lebensdauer auf und werden daher nur in Sonderfällen eingesetzt.
Solarzellen verlieren mit zunehmender Nutzungsdauer an Leistung, sodass nach etwa 20 Jahren häufig mit nur noch 90% des ursprünglichen Solarstromertrags bei gleicher Lichteinstrahlung zu rechnen ist. Inwieweit sich Solarzellen eines jeweiligen Herstellers abnutzen, lässt sich in der Praxis häufig an der Herstellergarantie erkennen, die z. B. nach 10 Jahren 90% der Leistung und nach 20 Jahren noch 80% der Leistung zusichert.
Die Nutzungsdauer einer Solarzelle ist über die reine Wirtschaftlichkeitsbetrachtung innerhalb des Betriebs einer Photovoltaik-Anlage hinaus insbesondere hinsichtlich ihrer Umweltverträglichkeit von Relevanz. Dabei geht es um die Frage, wie viel Energie für die Herstellung einer Zelle aufgewendet wird und wie viel Energie die Solarzelle während ihrer gesamten Nutzungsdauer erzeugt (Energierücklaufzeit).

Diese Frage beantwortete Dipl. Kfm. Robert John Doelling vom Fachmagazin www.energie-experten.org.