Questions & Answers

Back to Overview

Not all cancer screening tests seem to make sense. Shouldn’t people be receiving better information so they can make their own decisions?

 

Answer

04.2._engl_3013-01-31 - 0602_600x400

Photo: Astrid Blank

In Germany, 43 million cancer screening tests are carried out every year. This policy is supported and encouraged by the government as it is commonly thought that an early diagnosis will lead to better treatment, increased life expectancy, and improved quality of life. But is that really always the case?
Screening methods are becoming more and more effective; even precancerous lesions can now be identified. But not all screening tests necessarily lead to increased life expectancy. And it is becoming increasingly clear that not every cancer is fatal, and may not actually affect a patient’s quality of life. What is needed, then, is a screening method capable of distinguishing lethal forms of cancer from those that do not put a patient’s life at risk. Extensive research is being carried out in this area.
As things stand, everyone has to decide for themselves whether they think a particular screening test would do them more harm than good. As soon as the dreaded diagnosis of “cancer” has been made, fear sets in, and follow-up examinations are carried out that can sometimes be painful. There is also a risk of false-positive test results potentially leading to unnecessary treatments.
Prof. Gerd Gigerenzer, director of the Harding Center for Risk Literacy at the Max Planck Institute for Human Development, has been campaigning for years to improve risk literacy education, and the ability to better understand statistics. For him, it is essential for people to become more skilled at assessing the risks of everyday life in order to be able to deal with uncertainties. This is particularly important when it comes to health, since many people go to cancer screening tests with false expectations, or interpret their results incorrectly. Doctors and journalists also need to be able to interpret risks accurately and to provide clear, reliable information to patients and the general public.
At the Harding Center, doctors, journalists and patient organisations are trained in dealing with risks. Clear and accessible information on various methods for early detection is also available on the centre’s website at http://www.harding-center.de/index.php/en/what-you-should-know/facts-boxes.

Dr Susann Beetz of the Ideas 2020 team answered this question with the support of Ines Lein of the Harding Center for Risk Literacy at the Max Planck Institute for Human Development.

Fragen & Antworten

Zurück zur Übersicht

Nicht jede Früherkennungsuntersuchung für Krebs scheint sinnvoll. Sollte die Bevölkerung nicht besser aufgeklärt werden, um eigene Entscheidungen treffen zu können?

 

Antwort

04.1_dt_2013-01-31 - P1030359_600x400

Foto: Astrid Blank

In Deutschland werden pro Jahr 43 Millionen Krebsfrüherkennungsuntersuchungen durchgeführt. Das ist politisch gewollt und wird gefördert. Man verspricht sich durch eine frühere Diagnose eine bessere Behandlung und damit eine Verlängerung des Lebens und Verbesserung der Lebensqualität der entsprechenden Patienten. Aber ist das immer gegeben?
Die Untersuchungsmethoden werden immer besser, sogar Krebsvorstufen können inzwischen festgestellt werden. Doch nicht jede Früherkennung führt auch zu einer Verlängerung des Lebens. Und es gibt auch die Erkenntnis, dass nicht jeder Krebs tödlich ist und die Lebensqualität beeinflusst. Was es also braucht, sind Früherkennungsmethoden, die einen tödlichen Krebs von einem nicht lebensbedrohlichen Krebs unterscheiden können. Daran wird intensiv geforscht.
Jede/r steht also in der Tat vor der Entscheidung, ob eine Untersuchung ihr oder ihm persönlich eher nutzt oder eher schadet. Steht die Diagnose „Krebs“ erst einmal im Raum, werden Ängste geschürt, folgen Nachuntersuchungen, die teilweise schmerzlich sein können. Auch gibt es Fälle von falschpositiven Resultaten, die zu unnötigen Behandlungen führen.
Prof. Dr. Gerd Gigerenzer, Leiter des Harding-Zentrums für Risikokompetenz am Max-Planck-Institut für Bildungsforschung plädiert seit Jahren für eine bessere Schulung der Risikokompetenz, für die Fähigkeit, Statistiken richtig lesen zu können. Für ihn ist es essenziell, dass wir Menschen besser die Risiken des Alltags einzuschätzen lernen, um mit den Unsicherheiten leben zu können. Das ist vor allem im Gesundheitsbereich wichtig, da viele Menschen mit falschen Erwartungen zu einer Krebsfrüherkennungsuntersuchung gehen bzw. deren Ergebnisse falsch interpretieren. Hier sind auch die Ärzte und Journalisten gefragt, Risiken richtig zu interpretieren und verständlich an Patienten und die allgemeine Öffentlichkeit zu vermitteln.
Am Harding-Zentrum werden Ärzte, Journalisten und Patientenorganisationen im Umgang mit Risiken geschult. Es stellt auf seiner Webseite außerdem transparente und verständliche Übersichten zu einigen Früherkennungsverfahren zur Verfügung (www.harding-center.de/index.php/de/was-sie-wissen-sollten/facts-boxes).

Die Frage beantwortete Dr. Susann Beetz vom Ideen 2020 – Team mit Unterstützung von Ines Lein vom Harding-Zentrum für Risikokompetenz am Max-Planck-Institut für Bildungsforschung.