Questions & Answers

Back to Overview

How do I secure my computer against outside threats?

 

Answer

Bild5_658883_original_R_B_by_Andreas Morlok_pixelio.de_600x400_BN

Photo: Andreas Morlok / pixelio.de

We assume that by “outside threats” you mean threats that attack your computer via a network interface. “Outside” can therefore mean the internet or other computers in your local area network. There are whole websites dedicated to answering this question, one of which is the German Federal Office for Information Security’s website BSI für Bürger. Here, we’ll just address a few of the key points.
Many attacks rely on a security gap in the software that your computer uses to process data from the network. Reputable manufacturers usually act quickly to close security gaps that they discover in their software. This is why it is important to always keep the software on your computer, your router and other devices up-to-date, as this minimises security vulnerabilities. A virus scanner can help to identify malicious data before it is processed by your computer.
However, even the latest software and virus scanners are not much help when you open the door to attacks yourself – by running files you have downloaded, for example. It is therefore advisable to only visit websites you trust and to be cautious when opening email attachments, even if they seem to come from a person or organisation you know, as it is easy to forge an email address. And yet, just as you cannot fully protect your home against intruders, there is no way to ensure that your computer is absolutely secure. You should therefore make regular back-ups of your data. If an attack on your computer is successful, a complete reinstallation might be the only way to fix the problem.

This question was answered by Florian Böhl from the research group Cryptography and IT Security at the Institute of Theoretical Informatics (ITI) at the Karlsruhe Institute of Technology.

Fragen & Antworten

Zurück zur Übersicht

Wie sichere ich meinen Computer nach außen?

 

Antwort

Bild5_658883_original_R_B_by_Andreas Morlok_pixelio.de_600x400_BN

Foto: Andreas Morlok / pixelio.de

Wir gehen davon aus, dass mit „nach außen“ der Schutz vor Angriffen über eine Netzwerkschnittstelle gemeint ist. „Außen“ steht dann z.B. für das Internet, aber beispielsweise auch für andere Computer im lokalen Netzwerk. Ganze Webseiten sind dieser Frage gewidmet, wie beispielsweise „BSI für Bürger„. Wir möchten hier kurz die wichtigsten Punkte aufgreifen:
Grundlage vieler Angriffe ist, dass aus dem Netzwerk empfangene Daten auf Ihrem Computer durch eine Software verarbeitet werden, die eine Sicherheitslücke hat. Seriöse Hersteller beheben gefundene Sicherheitslücken in ihrer Software zeitnah. Aus diesem Grund ist es wichtig, die Software auf Ihrem Computer, ihrem Router und anderen Geräten stets auf dem aktuellsten Stand und damit die Anzahl der Ansatzpunkte für Angriffe klein zu halten. Ein Virenscanner kann helfen, bösartige Daten zu erkennen, bevor sie weiterverarbeitet werden.
Doch selbst aktuellste Software und Virenscanner helfen wenig, wenn Sie dem Angreifer direkt selbst die Tür öffnen – beispielsweise durch das Ausführen von heruntergeladenen Dateien. Daher ist es ratsam, nur vertrauenswürdige Webseiten zu besuchen und E-Mail-Anhängen kritisch gegenüberzustehen (selbst wenn sie scheinbar von einem bekannten Absender kommen – die Absenderadresse einer E-Mail lässt sich leicht fälschen). Ebenso, wie Sie Ihr Haus nicht perfekt vor Einbrechern schützen können, lässt sich auch ein Computer nicht perfekt absichern. Auch aus diesem Grund sollten Sie regelmäßig Backups Ihrer Daten erstellen. Denn wurde Ihr Computer erfolgreich angegriffen, ist eine vollständige Neuinstallation oft die einzige wirklich wirksame Maßnahme.

Diese Frage beantwortet Florian Böhl aus der Arbeitsgruppe Kryptographie und Sicherheit des Instituts für Theoretische Informatik (ITI) am Karlsruher Institut für Technologie.