Questions & Answers

Back to Overview

When will we be able to teleport?

 

Answer

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Photo: Lee Bennett, CC BY-NC-SA 2.0

Teleporting is very useful to the science fiction genre (e.g. Star Trek), as it helps giant spaceships overcome a big problem. Without it, every time anyone wanted to board the ship or leave it to visit a planet, the captain would have to land it gently and then burn through loads of fuel taking off again. A sci-fi teleporter works by scanning a person or object to identify the exact position of all their atoms. It then sends that information to another location, where the traveller rematerialises as if by magic. That’s all well and good, but the number of atoms in the human body is about 10 to the power 28. In other words, a 1 followed by 28 zeroes. Or 10,000 septillions. To put that in perspective, all the information contained in all the printed works in the world only clocks up 18 zeroes. How exactly a piece of technology could transfer all that data to another place at top speed is anyone’s guess.
If, rather than transporting information about the atoms, the teleporter actually sent them flying to the new location as beams of energy, we’d come up against similar problems. If you work out the energy equivalent of a person – using the formula E=mc2 (energy = mass x the speed of light squared) – you’ll see that he or she represents an absolutely enormous amount of energy. As things stand, no one has the slightest idea how to go about teleporting all of that.
Another mystery is how exactly the technology would dematerialise the traveller in the outbound teleporter and then rematerialise them in the inbound one. If a teleporter was really going to work, it would have to heat the transfer matter to temperatures a million times hotter than the centre of the sun. It would therefore consume an unimaginably large amount of energy every time you used it. Taken together, all these problems show how far away we are from the day we can travel like Captain Kirk. If it ever does become possible, we can say with almost absolute certainty that no one alive today will be around to see it.
Another issue with teleporting technology is that, i it really did exist, it could double up as a cloning machine, and who knows what the consequences of that would be. Viewed this way, the issue isn’t just about working out if and when teleporting could be possible. We should also think about whether we even want this kind of technology in our lives. In one Star Trek episode, a teleporter malfunctions and ends up making two Kirks (one good, one evil) by mistake. Teleporting living things raises all manner of ethical issues. Is a human more than the sum of his or her physical components? What happens to our thoughts, personality and (if it exists) our soul when we teleport? In the world of Star Trek, there are religions whose followers refuse to teleport for exactly these kinds of reasons.

Henning Krause from the division Communications and Media Relations from the Helmholtz Association answered this question.

Fragen & Antworten

Zurück zur Übersicht

In welchem Jahr kann man sich beamen?

 

Antwort

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Foto: Lee Bennett, CC BY-NC-SA 2.0

Das Beamen löst in der Science Fiction, etwa bei StarTrek, ein zentrales Problem von großen Raumschiffen: Wie können Menschen an Bord kommen bzw. auf einem Planeten landen, ohne dass das ganze Raumschiff sanft und dann mit riesigem Energieaufwand wieder starten muss? Der Transporter scannt den Körper oder einen Gegenstand, analysiert die exakte Position jedes Atoms und sendet diese Information an einen anderen Ort, an dem der Reisende sogleich wieder materialisiert wird. Doch wie viele Atome hat eigentlich ein menschlicher Körper? Es sind etwa 10 hoch 28 – eine Eins mit 28 Nullen. Oder auch 10.000 Quadrillionen. Zum Vergleich: Die Gesamtinformation aller gedruckten Werke hat nur 18 Nullen. Wie der schnelle Transfer solcher Datenmengen funktionieren soll, ist vollkommen unklar.
Falls ein Transporter nicht die Information über die Atome sondern diese selbst in Form eines Energiestrahls übertragen sollte, stellen sich ähnlich Probleme: Nach der Formel Energie gleich Masse mal Lichtgeschwindigkeit zum Quadrat ergibt sich das Energieäquivalent eines Menschen. Ein irrsinnig hoch Energiemenge, deren mögliche Übertragungsart völlig offen ist.
Ebenso unklar, ist wie das „Entmaterialisieren“ beim Ausgangstransporter und das zusammensetzende „Materialisieren“ am Zieltransporter genau funktionieren könnte. Soll ein Transporter wirklich funktionieren, müsste man die Transfer-Materie auf eine Temperatur erhitzen, die eine Million Mal höher ist als die im Zentrum der Sonne, dies würde einen unglaublich hohen Energiebedarf bedeuten. All dies zusammen zeigt, wie weit entfernt wir von einem Transport wie aus StarTrek entfernt sind. Falls es überhaupt jemals möglich sein sollte, können wir doch mit hoher Sicherheit ausschließen, dass heute lebende Menschen dies erleben werden.
Stünde eine solche Technologie aber wirklich zur Verfügung, könnte sie außerdem direkt als Clone-Maschine genutzt werden. Ein Szenario mit unabsehbaren Folgen. Es stellt sich also nicht nur die Frage: Kann man beamen und falls ja: wann? Sondern auch: Will man so eine Technologie überhaupt? In einer Folge der klassischen StarTrek Serie wird Captain Kirk durch eine Fehlfunktion des Transporters versehentlich verdoppelt – in einen guten und einen bösen Kirk. Weitere ethische Fragen stellen sich bei Beamen von Lebewesen: Ist der Mensch mehr die Summe seiner physischen Bestandteile? Was passiert mit den Gedanken, der Persönlichkeit und einer möglichen Seele beim Beamen? Im StarTrek-Universum gibt es zum Beispiel Religionen, deren Anhänger wegen solcher Überlegungen jedes Beamen ablehnen.

Diese Frage beantwortete Henning Krause aus der Abteilung Kommunikation und Medien der Helmholtz-Gemeinschaft.