Questions & Answers

Back to Overview

How many people can the Earth hold?

 

Answer

Earth-Erde

Photo: Foto: Heikenwaelder Hugo, CC BY-SA 2.5

Currently, more than seven billion people live on planet Earth; by the year 2050 that figure will have grown to nine billion. More cautious prognoses predict that there will be around 10.7 billion people in the year 2100, but other estimates put the figure at over 16 billion!
All these people will want to eat, drive a car, and live in an air-conditioned home. Will there be enough resources to go round? If we continue to manage our resources as we are now, there are sure to be shortages of food, water, land, energy sources and raw materials. Experts, journalists and associations are warning of wars over resources, catastrophic climate change, and an ultimately uninhabitable Earth.
Scientists are trying to find a way to measure resource availability and consumption in order to quantify the issue. One such measure is the “ecological footprint”. This is the amount of land required to keep up a specific person’s lifestyle and standard of living given current production conditions.  According to the Global Footprint Network, humanity is currently exceeding the Earth’s capacity by 50 percent! If everyone on the planet had the lifestyle of the average German, we would already need 2.5 Earths to support us all.
To put it shortly, the answer to the question is:  We are already living beyond our means!

Dr Susann Beetz of the Ideas 2020 team answered this question.

Fragen & Antworten

Zurück zur Übersicht

Wie viele Menschen kann die Erde verkraften?

 

Antwort

Earth-Erde

Foto: Foto: Heikenwaelder Hugo, CC BY-SA 2.5

Derzeit leben mehr als 7 Milliarden Menschen auf der Erde; im Jahre 2050 werden es 9 Milliarden Menschen sein. Vorsichtige Prognosen gehen von etwa 10,7 Milliarden Menschen im Jahr 2100 aus. Andere Prognosen rechnen allerdings mit mehr als 16 Milliarden.
Sie alle wollen essen, ein Auto fahren, in einem klimatisierten Zuhause wohnen. Reichen die Ressourcen für alle? Nahrung, Wasser, Land, Energiequellen, Rohstoffe werden knapp, vor allem, wenn wir so weiter wirtschaften wie bisher. Experten, Journalisten, Verbände warnen vor Verteilungskriegen, Klimakollaps und einer letztendlich unbewohnbaren Erde.
Wissenschaftler versuchen ein Maß zu finden, um die Ressourcen und Verbrauche zu benennen und die Problematik zu quantifizieren. Ein Maß ist der „ökologische Fußabdruck“. Er bestimmt die Fläche, die notwendig ist, um Lebensstil und Lebensstandard eines Menschen dauerhaft zu ermöglichen, die heutigen Produktionsbedingungen vorausgesetzt.  Laut Angaben des Global Footprint Network überschreitet die Menschheit derzeit die Kapazität der Erde um 50%! Würden alle Menschen so leben wie in Deutschland, bräuchten wir schon jetzt 2,5 Erden.
Um auf die Frage zu antworten: Wir leben heute schon über unsere Verhältnisse.

Diese Frage beantwortete Dr. Susann Beetz vom Ideen 2020 – Team.