Questions & Answers

Back to Overview

What is the difference between solar heat and photovoltaics? Which technology will become more established?

 

Answer

Every year, 5.4 x 1024 joules (1.5 x 1,018 kWh) reach the Earth’s surface from the sun. That’s over 10,000 times more than the global demand for energy. But we have made little use of all this energy so far.

Concentrated solar power (CSP) and photovoltaics are two different technologies that allow us to capture the sun’s energy and turn it into something useful.

As a type of solar thermal technology, CSP involves transforming sunlight into heat by using mirrors to concentrate the rays. The heat energy is then used to produce steam that drives a turbine – just like in a conventional power plant. The advantage with this process is that we can store the heat and still generate electricity at times when the sun isn’t shining. Today’s CSP plants currently achieve efficiencies of 15 to 25 percent.

Photovoltaics uses solar cells that immediately transform sunlight into electrical current. When sunlight hits the cells, it separates positive and negative charge carriers, which in turn produces direct current. The biggest problem with photovoltaics is that we have no effective storage solutions at the moment. The most common types of cells are made of crystalline silicon, a semiconductor doped with impurity atoms. Modern silicon cells can already deliver efficiencies of 25 percent.

1_STJ_max

Photo: DLR

Both technologies are currently the focus of intensive research – for example at the Helmholtz-Zentrum Berlin (HZB) and at the DLR Institute of Solar Research, which operates the Jülich solar tower power plant. The researchers’ main aim is to make the systems more efficient so that the costs of generating electricity with them come down.

Both technologies will be around for a long time to come – and maybe other technologies will join them. DLR researchers estimate that if CSP plants covered just one percent of North Africa’s desert, they could meet the whole world’s energy needs. But that would present the problem of transporting the energy as electricity. Photovoltaic systems offer smaller, decentralised solutions. If Germany covered every industrial wasteland and every roof of every home with the systems by 2050, they could supply 25 percent of its energy.

Dorothee Bürkle, energy technology editor at DLR, answered this question.

Fragen & Antworten

Zurück zur Übersicht

Was ist der Unterschied zwischen Solarthermie und Photovoltaik? Und welche Technologie wird sich durchsetzen?

 

Antwort

Von der Sonne erreichen die Erdoberfläche pro Jahr 5,4 x 1024 Joule (1,5 x 1018 kWh), das ist mehr als das 10.000fache des Weltenergiebedarfs. Doch bisher nutzen wir diese Energie nur wenig.

Solarthermie und Photovoltaik sind zwei technisch unterschiedliche Wege, wie wir die Energie der Sonne auf der Erde einfangen und nutzbar machen können.

Das Prinzip der Solarthermie ist die Umwandlung der Energie der Sonne in Wärme. Dabei wird die Strahlung der Sonne durch Spiegel konzentriert. Mit der so gewonnenen Wärmeenergie wird dann – wie in einem konventionellen Kraftwerk – Dampf erzeugt, der eine Turbine antreibt. Der Vorteil ist, dass diese Wärme gespeichert werden kann, somit lassen sich Sonneneinstrahlung und Stromproduktion entkoppeln. Der Wirkungsgrad von heutigen Solarthermischen Kraftwerken liegt bei 15 bis 25 Prozent.

Die Photovoltaik verwendet Solarzellen, um das Sonnenlicht direkt in elektrischen Strom umzuwandeln. In Solarzellen werden unter Zufuhr von Sonnenlicht positive und negative Ladungen getrennt und freigesetzt und so Gleichstrom erzeugt. Das derzeitige Hauptproblem der Photovoltaik ist die effektive Speicherung. Die heute am häufigsten verwendeten Solarzellen bestehen aus kristallinem Silizium, einem halbleitenden Material, das mit Fremdatomen versetzt ist. Moderne Silizium-Solarzellen erzielen heute bereits einen Wirkungsgrad von 25 Prozent.

1_STJ_max

Foto: DLR

An beiden Technologien wird derzeit intensiv geforscht, so etwa am Helmholtz-Zentrum Berlin (HZB) oder am DLR-Institut für Solarforschung, das unter anderem den Solarturm Jülich betreibt.
Ziel ist es, besonders den Wirkungsgrad zu erhöhen und so die Kosten für die Stromerzeugung zu senken.

Langfristig wird es beide Technologien geben – und vielleicht noch weitere. Solarthermische Kraftwerke auf nur einem Prozent der Wüstenfläche im nördlichen Afrika könnten den gesamten Energiebedarf der Welt decken, so lautet eine Hochrechnung von DLR-Wissenschaftlern. Allerdings muss diese Energie in Form von Strom transportiert werden. Photovoltaik-Anlagen bieten kleinere, dezentrale Lösungen. Würde man bis 2050 alle Industriebrachflächen und Hausdächer in Deutschland mit ihnen versehen, ließe sich so der Energiebedarf zu 25 Prozent decken.

Diese Frage beantwortete Dorothee Bürkle, DLR-Energieredakteurin.