Questions & Answers

Back to Overview

Is there any neurological evidence that sensory overload and our use of new media is changing our brains?

 

Answer

Science20_ZBW_2

Photo: Intuitive Fotografie – Philippe Ramakers

Each day we process a wide variety of stimuli using our five senses: sight, smell, hearing, taste and touch. If we are bombarded with too many stimuli at once, our sensory organs are no longer able to process them and this can put us under psychological strain. This state is often referred to as sensory overload, and leads to stress, aggressive behaviour and rapid exhaustion. Researchers believe that modern life, and most particularly the all-pervading use of the internet and other new media, could induce chronic sensory overload, and cause people to experience difficulty in concentrating, disconnection with reality, hyperactivity, and even depression.

Researchers at the Max Planck Institute for Human Development and the Charité have conducted research to ascertain if and how frequent internet use affects the brain. So far, they have been able to show that people who use the internet extremely frequently, almost compulsively, have less grey matter in certain brain regions. Grey matter is the part of the central nervous system that is primarily made up of the neuronal cell bodies, as opposed to nerve fibres, which are the main component of white matter. Grey matter is mainly found in the outermost layers of the brain and covers the regions that deal with sensory perception, as well as muscle control, emotions and language.

Researchers have not yet been able to work out whether the differences in the amount of grey matter are the result of frequent internet use or a trigger for this kind of compulsive behaviour. Further studies are required to obtain an answer to this question.

Saskia Blank of the Ideas 2020 team answered this question in consultation with Simone Kühn, a neuroscientist at the Max Planck Institute for Human Development.

Fragen & Antworten

Zurück zur Übersicht

Gibt es eine neurologisch nachweisbare Veränderung des Gehirns durch die Reizüberflutung und die Nutzung neuer Medien?

 

Antwort

Science20_ZBW_2

Foto: Intuitive Fotografie – Philippe Ramakers

Mit unseren Sinnesorganen (Sehen, Riechen, Hören, Schmecken, Tasten) nehmen wir tagtäglich eine Vielzahl von unterschiedlichsten Reizen auf. Strömen gleichzeitig so viele Reize auf uns ein, dass sie nicht mehr vom Körper verarbeitet werden können, kommt es zu einer psychischen Überforderung. Man spricht von Reizüberflutung. Die Folge: Stress, aggressive Reaktionen und schnelle Erschöpfung. Forscher nehmen an, dass moderne Lebensweisen, insbesondere die allgegenwärtige Nutzung des Internets und anderer neuer Medien, eine chronische Reizüberflutung hervorrufen könnte, die zu Konzentrationsschwierigkeiten, Realitätsverlust, Hyperaktivität und sogar Depressionen führt.

Wissenschaftler des Max-Planck-Instituts für Bildungsforschung und der Charité haben untersucht, ob und wie sich eine starke Internetnutzung auf das Gehirn auswirkt. Sie konnten nachweisen, dass Personen, die das Internet sehr stark, fast abhängig nutzen, in bestimmten Hirnregionen weniger der sogenannte grauen Substanz aufweisen. Graue Substanz ist der Teil des Zentralennervensystems, der hauptsächlich aus Zellkörpern der Nervenzellen besteht – im Gegensatz zu den Nervenfasern, die die weiße Substanz bilden. Im Gehirn liegt die graue Substanz überwiegend außen und umfasst die Bereiche, die neben Sinneswahrnehmung, an Muskelkontrolle, Gefühlen und Sprache beteiligt sind.

Ob die Volumenveränderung der grauen Substanz eine Folge der häufigen Internetnutzung oder eine Voraussetzung für das fast suchtartige Verhalten sind, können die Wissenschaftler abschließend jedoch nicht sagen. Dafür bedarf es weiterer Untersuchungen.

Die Frage beantwortet Saskia Blank vom Ideen 2020-Team in Absprache mit Simone Kühn, Neurowissenschaftlerin am Max-Planck-Instituts für Bildungsforschung.