Questions & Answers

Back to Overview

Will we still have to work in the future?

 

Answer

05_IMG_3114

Photo: Leibniz Research Centre at TU Dortmund (IfADo)

This question could be interpreted in a number of different ways. In this case, I have opted for the following interpretation: Will we still have to work in the future so that we don’t get bored?
Influential scientists are unanimous in their message: The future of our society lies with the older generation! In the past hundred years, life expectancy has increased by about 30 years, but we are still making little use of this final period of life. What’s more, today’s 70 year olds are, on average, as healthy and as mobile as the 60 year olds of 20 years ago. It is clear, therefore, that something has to be done to ensure the elderly are adequately challenged and do not end up living isolated existences on the fringes of society.
The following statistics also need to be taken into account: In 2050, almost 40 percent of the population will be over 60 years old, compared with 20 percent today. To ensure that Germany remains an important centre of commerce and industry, we must tap into the potential of older people.
Work is a meaningful part of our lives – it provides stability and ensures people remain integrated in society. It is therefore not a question of whether we will have to continue to work in our old age, but rather what form that work should take. Businesses are displaying an increasing willingness to adapt to older employees, and there is scientific evidence to show that this changing attitude makes sense. Certain core skills develop naturally in old age: social competence, reliability, emotional stability and resilience. However, certain faculties do fade with age, such as short-term memory and the ability to multitask. The degree of age-related cognitive change is dependent on many factors, such as social interaction and, in particular, the sort of activities that people perform on a daily basis. Neuroscientists have shown that it is still possible for the brain to develop and for mental capacity to improve well into old age. This can be achieved through challenging and varied work that offers as much scope for development as possible, and also through leisure activities such as dancing and brain-training exercises that utilise those mental capacities not sufficiently employed at work. Such activities have even been shown to enhance the cerebral processes responsible for key cognitive functions. That means that an important prerequisite for an active, vital old age is lifelong learning – both at work and during free time.
Therefore, the ideal solution would be to alter our current concept of three consecutive phases of life – learning followed by working followed by resting – and instead to foster lifelong learning and the establishment of a work environment that is suited to the elderly.

Susann Beetz of the Ideas 2020 team answered this question in consultation with Prof. Michael Falkenstein, head of the project group “Aging, cognition and work” at the Leibniz Research Centre at TU Dortmund (IfADo).

Fragen & Antworten

Zurück zur Übersicht

Werden wir morgen noch arbeiten müssen?

 

Antwort

05_IMG_3114

Foto: Leibniz-Institut für Arbeitsforschung an der TU Dortmund (IfADo)

Die Frage kann auf unterschiedlich verstanden und beantwortet werden. Hier wurde folgende Lesart gewählt: Werden wir morgen noch arbeiten müssen, weil wir uns sonst langweilen?
Die Botschaft namhafter Wissenschaftler ist: Die Zukunft unserer Gesellschaft liegt im Alter! In den letzten hundert Jahren hat sich unsere Lebensdauer um rund 30 Jahre verlängert, ein Zeitraum, der bislang so gut wie ungenutzt bleibt. Und: Die heute 70jährigen sind im Durchschnitt so gesund und mobil wie die 60jährigen vor 20 Jahren. Es liegt also auf der Hand, dass etwas getan werden muss gegen die sich eventuell einstellende Unterforderung und gegen die Gefahr eines Lebens im gesellschaftlichen Abseits im Alter.
Hinzu kommt auch folgendes: Im Jahr 2050 werden fast 40 Prozent der Bevölkerung über 60 Jahre alt sein, derzeit sind es etwa 20 Prozent. Das Potenzial der Älteren muss genutzt werden, sonst ist der Wirtschaftsstandort Deutschland gefährdet.
Arbeit ist etwas Sinnstiftendes, gibt Halt, integriert die Menschen in ein soziales Gefüge. Es ist also nicht die Frage, ob wir im Alter noch arbeiten müssen, sondern wie die Arbeit für ältere Menschen gestaltet werden muss. Die Unternehmen zeigen zunehmend die Bereitschaft, sich auf ältere Arbeitnehmer einzustellen. Die Wissenschaft gibt hier Unterstützung: Bestimmte Kernkompetenzen stellen sich mit dem Alter quasi von alleine ein. Im Alter werden wir sozialkompetenter, zuverlässiger, emotional stabiler, widerstandsfähiger. Allerdings lassen auch einige Kompetenzen deutlich nach, so das Kurzzeit-Gedächtnis und die Fähigkeit zur Mehrfachtätigkeit. Der Grad der altersbegleitenden Veränderungen hängt von vielen Faktoren ab, wie soziale Interaktionen und v.a. von der Art der Arbeit, die die Menschen täglich verrichten. Neurowissenschaftler zeigen jedoch: Das Gehirn kann sich bis ins hohe Alter verändern, die geistige Leistungsfähigkeit lässt sich auch im Alter steigern. Dies kann zum einen durch anspruchsvolle und variable Arbeit mit möglichst großen Freiräumen geschehen, zum anderen lassen sich mentale Funktionen die durch die Arbeit nicht hinreichend genutzt wurden, durch anspruchsvolle Freizeitaktivitäten wie Tanzen oder durch ein mentales Training nachhaltig verbessern. Dies zeigt sich sogar in einer Intensivierung derjenigen Hirnprozesse, die wichtige mentale Funktionen realisieren. Voraussetzung für gutes Altern sind mithin lebenslanges Lernen bei der Arbeit und in der Freizeit.
Die Vision wäre also eine Überwindung der Einteilung des Lebens drei aufeinanderfolgende Phasen, Lernen – Arbeiten – Ruhen, hin zu lebenslangem Lernen und einem dem Alter angepassten Arbeitsumfeld.

Diese Frage beantwortet Susann Beetz vom Ideen 2020-Team in Abstimmung mit Prof. Dr. Michael Falkenstein, Leiter der Projektgruppe „Altern, Kognition und Arbeit“ am Leibniz-Institut für Arbeitsforschung an der TU Dortmund (IfADo).