Questions & Answers

Back to Overview

What’s the best way of storing electricity from photovoltaic systems for private consumption?

 

Answer

632313_original_R_B_by_Thomas Max Müller_pixelio.de_600x402_BN

Photo: Thomas Max Müller / pixelio.de

Lead batteries and lithium-ion batteries are the two options currently available for privately operated PV systems. Lead-acid batteries, and the more recent gel variety, are cheaper than lithium-ion technology, but they don’t last as long. Lithium-ion batteries are more expensive but can store more electricity in a smaller space and promise better performance when it comes to durability and depth of discharge. However, while we know a lot about lead batteries because they have been in use for a long time, the durability of lithium-ion batteries has only been tested in relatively short ageing tests. This means there is a high degree of uncertainty in any statement about how long lithium systems can last.
In May 2013, the German government introduced a new funding scheme designed to encourage people to use more of the electricity their PV systems produce. Under the new rules, anyone who buys a new storage system with a new PV system will receive up to €600 per kilowatt-peak installed. Those who buy a new storage system for their existing panels (which went into operation after 31 December 2012) will receive up to €660 per kilowatt-peak installed. But despite the funding, lead batteries will still cost operators an additional 10 to 15 cents per kilowatt-hour of stored PV power. Users of lithium-ion batteries should expect to spend even more: between 20 and 25 cents per kilowatt-hour.
Manufacturers are therefore now developing smaller lithium-ion batteries, where the primary aim is not to increase personal consumption to the absolute maximum, but to make a system that operates in the most economical way possible. So although the new systems only promise private consumption of 50 to 60 percent, they cut the cost per kilowatt-hour of stored PV electricity. If you are interested in purchasing a solar storage system for use in Germany, you might find this (German-language) site helpful: http://www.solaranlagen-portal.com/photovoltaik/solarspeicher-rechner. It’s a calculator that helps you work out how economically viable a storage solution is.

This question was answered by Robert John Doelling of www.energie-experten.org, an online magazine specialising in matters related to energy.

Fragen & Antworten

Zurück zur Übersicht

Welche Stromspeicher sind für Photovoltaikanlagen zum Privatverbrauch am besten geeignet?

 

Antwort

632313_original_R_B_by_Thomas Max Müller_pixelio.de_600x402_BN

Foto: Thomas Max Müller / pixelio.de

Für privat betriebene PV-Anlagen sind momentan Blei- und Lithium-Ionen-Batterien am Markt verfügbar. Blei-Säure- bzw. die moderneren Blei-Gel-Akkus sind günstiger in der Anschaffung, weisen jedoch eine vergleichsweise kürzere Haltbarkeit auf. Lithium-Ionen-Batterien sind hingegen teurer in der Anschaffung können aber auf weniger Raum mehr Sonnenstrom speichern und versprechen eine längere Lebensdauer und auch Entladetiefe. Während Blei-Batterien seit Langem im Praxisbetrieb erprobt sind, wurde die Lebensdauer von Lithium-Ionen-Batterien hingegen in relativ kurzen Alterungstests ermittelt. Aussagen über die Haltbarkeit von Lithium-Ionen-Batterien sind daher mit einer höheren Prognoseunsicherheit verbunden.
Um den Eigenverbrauch von Solarstrom zu fördern, gibt es seit Mai 2013 einen Zuschuss von bis zu 600 Euro pro Kilowattpeak PV-Leistung, wenn der Speicher bei einer neu zu bauenden Photovoltaikanlage installiert wird, und von bis zu 660 Euro pro Kilowattpeak PV-Leistung, wenn der Speicher bei bestehenden PV-Anlagen, die nach dem 31.12.2012 in Betrieb genommen wurden, nachgerüstet wird. Trotz dieses Zuschusses resultieren bei Blei-Akkus immer noch zusätzliche Gesamtkosten pro Kilowattstunde gespeichertem Solarstrom von rund 10 bis 15 Cents. Für das Speichern in Lithium-Ionen-Speicher muss sogar mit zusätzlichen Kosten von 20 bis 25 Cents gerechnet werden.
Daher tendieren Hersteller aktuell zur Entwicklung kleinerer Lithium-Ionen-Speicher, mit denen nicht die größtmögliche Steigerung des Eigenverbrauchs, sondern vorrangig eine wirtschaftlich optimale Betriebsweise des Speichers angestrebt wird. Obwohl damit nur noch ein Eigenverbrauch von bis zu 50 bis 60 Prozent möglich ist, reduzieren sich allerdings die Kosten pro gespeicherter Kilowattstunde PV-Strom. Wer sich für einen Solarstromspeicher interessiert, der findet im Internet z. B. unter http://www.solaranlagen-portal.com/photovoltaik/solarspeicher-rechner einen Speicherrechner, mit dem man sich einen Überblick über die Wirtschaftlichkeit eines Solarstromspeichers verschaffen kann.

Diese Frage beantwortete Dipl. Kfm. Robert John Doelling vom Fachmagazin www.energie-experten.org.