Questions & Answers

Back to Overview

What is a biomarker?

 

Answer

1_Blutentnahme

Photo: DKFZ, Jörg Hoheisel

Biomarkers are substances found in tissue, blood or urine that are indicative of a particular biological state or that supply information on biochemical processes. In the field of medicine, certain proteins, genes and cells can be used as biomarkers. These provide valuable information on a person’s state of health. But biomarkers do not always have to do with illness or disease. Pregnancy tests that measure a hormone found in the urine are typical biomarker tests, for example.

Sometimes the mere presence of a biomarker (in a patient’s blood or urine, for example) is sufficient to indicate disease. Other tests measure the amount of a certain biomarker, with an elevated amount indicating a greater likelihood of disease.

Biomarker tests also allow doctors to tell if an individual has a higher risk of developing conditions such as Alzheimer’s disease or certain types of cancer later in life; others tell them how effectively a specific drug is working for a given patient.

Saskia Blank from the Ideas 2020-Team answered this question in collaboration with the department “Press and Public Relations” of the German Cancer Research Center.

Fragen & Antworten

Zurück zur Übersicht

Was ist ein „Biomarker“?

 

Antwort

1_Blutentnahme

Foto: DKFZ, Jörg Hoheisel

Biomarker sind Substanzen, die dabei helfen, biologische Zustände oder Prozesse einzuschätzen. In der Medizin werden beispielsweise Proteine, Gene oder Zellen als Biomarker eingesetzt, um den Gesundheitszustand eines Menschen zu beurteilen. Biomarker müssen aber nicht immer nur mit Krankheiten zu tun haben: Ein typischer Biomarker-Test ist etwa der Schwangerschaftstest, der den Gehalt eines bestimmten Hormons im Urin erfasst.

Manchmal zeigt das bloße Vorhandensein des Biomarkers – zum Beispiel im Blut oder Urin des Patienten – dass eine Krankheit vorliegt. Oder die Menge des Biomarkers wird gemessen: je mehr Biomarker, desto wahrscheinlicher ist eine bestimmte Erkrankung.

Durch einen Biomarker-Test kann man auch herausfinden, ob jemand ein erhöhtes Risiko besitzt, später einmal an einer Krankheit zu erkranken – beispielsweise an bestimmten Krebsarten oder an Alzheimer. Andere Biomarker-Tests können zeigen, ob und wie ein Medikament bei einem bestimmten Patienten wirkt.

Diese Frage beantwortete Saskia Blank vom Ideen 2020-Team in Absprache mit der Stabsstelle „Presse- und Öffentlichkeitsarbeit“ des Deutschen Krebsforschungszentrums.