Questions & Answers

Back to Overview

Why aren’t we all using algae biofuel?

 

Answer

Energie

Photo: KIT, Lilith Paul

Algae are the latest great green hope in the world of energy crops, with some species producing 50 times more oil per hectare than rapeseed. But before we can start running our cars on this kind of fuel, a lot more work needs to be done on researching algae and examining the economics of it all.

Engineers are working on energy-efficient methods of cultivating algae and of extracting the oils that can be used to produce biodiesel. Researchers are also investing a lot of time in developing photobioreactors, special containers (see image) that are used for growing algae. The cost of the reactors has to be covered by the value added, that is, the amount of biomass produced each year. That equates to around €40 per square metreof reactor floor space. The reactors also have to be energy-efficient when it comes to supplying the algae with the nutrients they need (especially carbon dioxide). Another issue is that many questions on the long-term stability of photobioreactors remain to be answered, and these need to be identified and explored in field studies. The Karlsruhe Institute of Technology, for example, is involved in an outdoor plant in Brisbane, where researchers are working on practical problems by exploring optimum harvest cycles, the effects of temperature, and biological stability.

Saskia Blank from the Ideas 2020-Team answered this question with input from Professor Clemens Posten from the Karlsruhe Institute of Technology. As head of its Bioprocess Engineering section, he is involved in developing photobioreactors.

Fragen & Antworten

Zurück zur Übersicht

Warum wird der Algentreibstoff nicht praktisch angewendet?

 

Antwort

Energie

Foto: KIT, Lilith Paul

Algen sind die neuen Hoffnungsträger unter den Energiepflanzen: Einige Arten erzeugen 50 Mal so viel Öl pro Hektar wie Raps. Bis Treibstoff aus Algen tatsächlich in unsere Autotanks gelangt, muss aber noch viel wissenschaftliche Forschung betrieben werden. Auch wirtschaftliche Aspekte müssen genau betrachtete werden.

So arbeiten Ingenieure an energiesparsamen Kultivierungs- und Extraktionsmethoden für die Gewinnung von Algenölen, die für die Biodieselproduktion genutzt werden können. Auch die Entwicklung von sogenannten Photobioreaktoren ist ein intensiv beforschtes Thema. In diesen speziellen Behältnissen (siehe Bild) wachsen die Algen heran. Die Photobioreaktoren müssen zum einen preiswert genug sein, um durch die Wertschöpfung – nämlich die pro Jahr gewonnene Biomasse – finanziell abgedeckt zu sein. Das wären etwa 40 Euro pro Quadratmeter Standfläche. Zum anderen muss die Versorgung der Algen mit den Nährstoffen – insbesondere Kohlenstoffdioxid – energetisch günstig sein. Außerdem sind noch viele Fragen, die die Langzeitstabilität dieser speziellen Bioreaktoren betreffen, offen und müssen in Feldversuchen aufgedeckt und bearbeitet werden. Das Karlsruher Institut für Technologie ist zum Bespiel an einer Outdoor-Anlage in Brisbane beteilig. Dort werden real existierende Probleme untersucht, wie beispielweise optimale Erntezyklen, Temperatureinfluss und biologische Stabilität.

Die Frage beantwortete Saskia Blank vom Ideen 2020-Team in Abstimmung mit Professor Clemens Posten, Leiter des Bereichs Bioverfahrenstechnik am Karlsruher Institut für Technologie, der sich dort mit der Entwicklung von Photobioreaktoren beschäftigt.