Questions & Answers

Back to Overview

Which is better, nuclear energy or solar energy?

 

Answer

The sun supplies the Earth with about ten thousand times more energy (in the form of solar radiation) than we humans actually need – and it is set to keep doing so for the next four billion years. Solar cells help us to convert some of that sunlight into the electricity that keeps industrial societies moving. Researchers have brought about rapid progress in photovoltaic technology. Their work has helped develop new materials systems, increase efficiencies, and lower production costs. Concentrated solar power is another way of generating electricity, and is ideal for regions that get a lot of sun. The systems use reflectors to concentrate the sunlight and then use it to produce steam that drives turbines. We can also harness the sun’s energy by installing rooftop solar collectors that provide us with hot water. What’s more, the sun play a big part in helping the wind to blow (driving wind turbines) and plants to grow (giving us biomass and fossil fuels).

1_624065_original_R_B_by_Ralf Sperling_pixelio.de_600x400_BN

Photo: Ralf Sperling / pixelio.de

Nuclear power plants are fuelled by uranium, a radioactive element whose mining causes serious environmental damage. Inside a nuclear reactor, uranium splits up and forms decay products. Because their radioactivity makes them dangerous to humans and animals, these products have to be kept in isolated storage for many thousands of years. Alongside the risk of a nuclear accident at a plant (caused either by human error or a natural disaster), nuclear waste is also a major problem with this type of power. Repository costs are difficult to estimate, and it is highly unlikely that electricity costs fully factor them in.

In itself, however, the term “nuclear energy” is entirely neutral. It merely refers to the energy that is released when heavy atoms are split (fission) or when very light atoms are fused (fusion). The sun gets its neverending supply of energy from a nuclear fusion reaction in which hydrogen atoms in the core of the sun collide to produce helium. In theory, a power plant down here on Earth could also use hydrogen fusion to produce energy in a controlled way that does not entail the same high levels of risk that are present with nuclear reactors. The technical challenges for this are so huge, however, that researchers say it will be several decades before this kind of power plant could begin operating. An international consortium is currently setting up an experimental reactor in Cadarache in France, which has been designed to clear up some of the obstacles on the road to achieving this goal.

This question was answered by Dr Antonia Rötger, science writer in the communication department of the Helmholtz-Zentrum Berlin für Materialien und Energie.

Fragen & Antworten

Zurück zur Übersicht

Was ist besser: nukleare oder solare Energie?

 

Antwort

Die Sonne ist für die nächsten vier Milliarden Jahre eine unerschöpfliche Energiequelle: Mit der Sonnenstrahlung trifft rund zehntausendmal mehr Energie auf den Boden auf, als die Menschheit benötigt. Mit Hilfe von Solarzellen lässt sich ein Teil ihrer Strahlung in Strom umwandeln, dem Lebenselixier der Industriegesellschaften. Die Photovoltaikforschung hat rasante Fortschritte ermöglicht, neue Materialsysteme entwickelt, Wirkungsgrade gesteigert und die Produktionskosten gesenkt. In sonnenreichen Regionen können auch Solarthermiekraftwerke zur Stromversorgung beitragen: Hier konzentrieren Spiegel die Sonnenergie und erzeugen damit Dampf, der Turbinen antreibt. Die Energie der Sonne lässt sich auch einfach über Sonnenkollektoren auf dem Hausdach zur Warmwassererzeugung nutzen. Und eigentlich sorgt die Sonne auch dafür, dass Winde wehen (Windkraft) und Pflanzen wachsen (Biomasse und fossile Energien).

1_624065_original_R_B_by_Ralf Sperling_pixelio.de_600x400_BN

Foto: Ralf Sperling / pixelio.de

Kernkraftwerke nutzen dagegen den Kernbrennstoff Uran, ein radioaktives Element, dessen Abbau große Umweltschäden verursacht. Im Reaktor wird Uran in weitere radioaktive Zerfallsprodukte aufgespalten. Diese Abfallprodukte müssen sorgfältig und über viele tausend Jahre von der Biosphäre abgeschottet werden, um Menschen und Tiere vor ihrer Strahlung zu schützen. Neben dem Risiko eines Reaktorunglücks, sei es durch menschliches Versagen oder eine Naturkatastrophe, ist dieses Endlagerproblem ein gravierender Nachteil. Die Kosten dafür sind schwer abzuschätzen und mit Sicherheit nicht vollständig in die Stromkosten eingepreist.

Der Begriff „nukleare Energie“ ist jedoch an sich wertfrei und bezeichnet die Energie, die bei der Spaltung von schweren Atomen oder auch bei der Verschmelzung (Fusion) von sehr leichten Atomen freigesetzt wird. Die Verschmelzung von Wasserstoff zu Helium findet im Innern der Sonne statt und sorgt für ihren unerschöpflichen Energiestrom. Im Prinzip lässt sich durch Verschmelzung von Wasserstoff auch in einem Fusionskraftwerk auf der Erde kontrolliert Energie erzeugen, ohne ähnlich hohe Risiken in Kauf zu nehmen wie bei Kernreaktoren. Die technischen Herausforderungen sind allerdings gigantisch, so dass Forscher frühestens in einigen Jahrzehnten damit rechnen, ein solches Kraftwerk in Betrieb zu nehmen. Gerade errichtet ein internationales Konsortium den ersten Experimentalreaktor in Cadarache, Frankreich, um einige Probleme auf diesem Weg zu lösen.

Diese Frage beantwortet Dr. Antonia Rötger, Referentin für Wissenschaftskommunikation in der Pressestelle vom Helmholtz-Zentrum Berlin für Materialien und Energie.